A Pensieve

Like how any story would begin, theres always the talk about the past. Be it a flashback, or a cut in the scene which directs you to a place or a time in history that will show you what life was for the protagonist; what his or her dreams were and what fuelled their dreams to make it a reality.

This would be something like that…except instead of a historical date, and a setting, i’ll present things in a general manner. Also, rather than going straight to the point, I usually prefer to present some context that would comparatively link past, present and (perhaps) future together that would create a natural flow between the stories.

The Past would constitute the experiences, thoughts, ideals, dreams, and the years I’ve spent either in Singapore or overseas.
The Present would constitute the experiences and thoughts that occured today or in an event that is reciprocal to a time nearing the now.
The Future would constitute the dreams and ideals that I would set in motion from the present in order to achieve the things I desired through actions from the past.

So lets get started.

So many a time, we would live our lives and on a blessed opportunity, we’d have our paths intertwined with meeting new people. Be it meeting a friend for the first time, or a lover, an annoying roommate, or even a colleague; just somebody in general. We would meet these individuals and we’d talk and talk. From these social interactions, we’d probably make a friend out of them, and sometimes on the rare but possible occurence, we’d not make a friend. All these are based on what we like and dislike or whether our interest are aligned or whether we are completely different people. In short, our personality. Our personality defines us and its what shapes us to what we are today. However, take our personality apart. Take our likes, and our dislikes away. Take our wisdom of knowing what we desire away, and what are we left with? An empty soul? Not very likely.
I personally enjoy believing in the idea that we would become like how we once were when we were kids all those years ago; curious-innocent little people who cared not about what people thought about themselves and the energy and desire to learn more about the world, to understand things, to make friends with everybody, to criticise anything without fear, and to feel big. So many a time, we would meet, and we would continue meeting people whom by this day and age, would have learnt from their past, and are already on their way to meeting their goals or trying their best to get there.

But every now and then, we’d stop and wonder with the people whom with met what their life was all about all those years ago….and from wanting to ask about others, we come to ask about ourselves…and thats where reflection comes in.

It is with these reflections in comparing my past and my present situation that inspires me to write my thoughts into this blog.

I’d like to think that this blog would evolve as my stories progresses. Its going to be chronological, in timeline and I’ll even talk about the relationships that define the man I am today. Everything and anything goes.

You and I meet different people everyday. Sometimes, Fortunes shine upon us, but sometimes, misfortune rains upon us too. The blog is given the name, Maktub. Maktub, in arabic has a very peculiar effect in which a very long and intense conversation between two or more people could be ended with this simple yet powerful word. It means, it has been written. 

 

Nowhere else would I write Maktub again in any of my stories because you, as the reader, will come to understand its meaning on your own through the stories that I will come to tell.

I expect to produce my first reflection on my life in the coming hours or days but thanks for reading thus far.

Sincerely,

Ammar Jaafar
29.Dec.15
1810hrs +8GMT

4 thoughts on “A Pensieve

Leave a comment